WARNING - SCAM ON CRAIGS LIST FOR A RENTAL IN CITY LIGHTS

Up to Citylights Discussion

WARNING - SCAM ON CRAIGS LIST FOR A RENTAL IN CITY LIGHTS

Posted by Lor at July 04. 2008

Yesterday there was a posting on craigslist for a designer, 2BR apt in City Lights on the 32FL, partially furnished for $2900.  It sounded too good to be be true since it also included parking and electricity.  My husband & I are looking for a 2BR in the building and responded to the ad.  Since we lived in the building a few years ago, we're familiar with the process of getting board approval.  She never responed to my requests for the apt# and how to start the approval process,  Instead she kept reiterating how I should send the1st months rent WITHOUT an approval.  Also, she only had 1 set of keys which remaind with her and she was out of the country.  Therefore, I had to wire the money to TNT delivery service and she would send the keys.  If I loked the apt, I was to call TNT and advise to tranfer the money into her account and keep the keys.  There was also mention of a 'contract' but I imagine that was bogus.  I finally told her I could not proceed with the transaction until I received the apt# and application to submit to the board.  I haven't heard back from her!


I'm posting this discussion to WARN everyone like me you need board approval to move into City Lights.  DON"T get scammed.  If the deal sounds to-good-to-be-true, it probably is!!!  This is the link....


http://newyork.craigslist.org/que/nfb/734586054.html



We're still looking for a 2BR apt in the building for me, my husband and our 2yr old son.  If anyone knows of something coming, please let me know.................Thnks!!!


Lorraine


Re: WARNING - SCAM ON CRAIGS LIST FOR A RENTAL IN CITY LIGHTS

Posted by Carol Marquez at July 21. 2008

I am sorry to hear about this scam. I have a legitimate posting on Craig's list for apartment 11E. It is a 1 BR/1bath/Den/Balcony with a temporary wall up in the den that served as a bedroom for our sons. It has a north/west view of the city- with unobstructed views of the UN. We are selling it ourselves for $485,00 with a MT. of $1343.77 (60% tax deductible). It is currently available.


E-mail: tomcarj@att.net



Previously Lor wrote:




Yesterday there was a posting on craigslist for a designer, 2BR apt in City Lights on the 32FL, partially furnished for $2900.  It sounded too good to be be true since it also included parking and electricity.  My husband & I are looking for a 2BR in the building and responded to the ad.  Since we lived in the building a few years ago, we're familiar with the process of getting board approval.  She never responed to my requests for the apt# and how to start the approval process,  Instead she kept reiterating how I should send the1st months rent WITHOUT an approval.  Also, she only had 1 set of keys which remaind with her and she was out of the country.  Therefore, I had to wire the money to TNT delivery service and she would send the keys.  If I loked the apt, I was to call TNT and advise to tranfer the money into her account and keep the keys.  There was also mention of a 'contract' but I imagine that was bogus.  I finally told her I could not proceed with the transaction until I received the apt# and application to submit to the board.  I haven't heard back from her!




I'm posting this discussion to WARN everyone like me you need board approval to move into City Lights.  DON"T get scammed.  If the deal sounds to-good-to-be-true, it probably is!!!  This is the link....




http://newyork.craigslist.org/que/nfb/734586054.html







We're still looking for a 2BR apt in the building for me, my husband and our 2yr old son.  If anyone knows of something coming, please let me know.................Thnks!!!




Lorraine





Please take a look at the forum rules and FAQ section.

/ Home / Citylights / Citylights Discussion / WARNING - SCAM ON CRAIGS LIST FOR A RENTAL IN CITY LIGHTS